Obverse: A representation of the New Zealand Coat of Arms.

Reverse: A representation of a bouquet of New Zealand flora, composed of fern fronds and sprigs of the blossom of Pohutukawa, Manuka, Kowhai, and Mt Cook Lilies, with a scroll below inscribed with the words ?FOR SPECIAL SERVICE?.

Size: 36mm in diameter.

Ribbon: 32 mm in width, the ribbon is composed of 11 vertical stripes: red, white, blue, orange, green, yellow, green, orange, blue, white, and red. The six colours used in the ribbon are the principal colours of the national flags of those countries affected by the earthquake and resulting tsunami of 26 December 2004.

Suspension: By a plain straight suspender.

Instituted on 22nd December 2005, this gold plated base-metal medal was instituted to recognise New Zealanders, both Defence Force personnel and civilians, who were involved in rescue, relief and rehabilitation efforts in areas devastated by the earthquake off the coast of Sumatra and the resulting tsunami of 26th December 2004. Service in devastated areas related to the location of missing New Zealanders, the identification of victims, and various other service by New Zealanders, is also recognised by the new medal.

The length of qualifying service for the medal is at least 7 days between 26 December 2004 and 28 February 2005, or at least 14 days between 26 December 2004 and 26 December 2005. Devastated areas in which New Zealanders were involved in relief efforts include Banda Aceh (Indonesia), Phuket (Thailand), Galle (Sri Lanka), Male (The Maldives), and the Andaman Islands.

Royal Warrant For This Award: View Warrant (PDF document)

Regulations For This Award:View Regulations (PDF document)